Installing Ubuntu

4 options; burn into a CD/DVD, create a bootable USB, use Virtual CloneDrive (or anything similar) or use wubi

I tried all, and I ended up burn it into a DVD (well, I accidentally deleted my Windows, so burn into DVD is the safest choice)

When I try to install, I got this error, “Grub failed to install…”
Solution?

Insert the CD, click on “Try Ubuntu”
Open the Terminal (ctrl-alt-t) and type:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair
sudo sed 's/trusty/saucy/g' -i /etc/apt/sources.list.d/yannubuntu-boot-repair-trusty.list
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && (boot-repair &)

Click “Recommended repair” and follow the instructions
and one of the step is to write in the terminal,
apt-get install -y --force-yes grub-pc linux
get rid of linux at the end, so it should just be
apt-get install -y --force-yes grub-pc

I did get the error towards the end, “GRUB failed to install to the following devices”
which I simply ignored and proceed towards the end

and it works just fine despite the error message

*to become root, sudo -i
*and this is a good step by step in manual partitioning

Leave a Reply

